55 BETA students compete at TAFE State Competition— 12 advance to Nationals

55 BETA students compete at TAFE state competition— 12 advance to nationals
This is the image for the news article titled 55 BETA students compete at TAFE state competition— 12 advance to nationals

Fifty-five students from the Texas Association of Future Educators (TAFE) chapter at BETA competed at the 2016 Teach Tomorrow Summit State Conference, held at the University of Houston, Jan. 30- Feb. 1.


Out of the 55 students who competed in state and national-qualifying events, there were 40 winners.  Twelve of those winners - the ones who competed in events that qualify for the national competition -will advance to the Educators Rising National Conference in Boston, MA, in June. 


Some of the competitors at the state competition competed and placed in events that are not offered at the national level. These students include: Leander Abreu of McAllen, Carmen Boffill of Elsa, Myra Canales of Raymondville, Roy Cantu of La Joya, Alondra Carreon of McAllen, Mary Dillon of McAllen, Victoria Escamilla of Pharr, Cesia Flores of Mission, Christopher Garza of Elsa, Leslie Garcia of Monte Alto, Keilly Garza of Edinburg, Jackie Giang of Edinburg, Iris Gonzalez of Edinburg, Hope Hernandez of Edinburg, Lesly Ibanez of Raymondville, Max Johnson of Edinburg, Jefferson Lint of Edinburg, Lydia McGlaun of San Juan, Angelo Montoya of Mission, Jose G. Peña of Edinburg, Aquene Reyes of Edinburg, Daisy Rios of Donna, Fatima Rodriguez Carreon of Weslaco, Andrea Lazo-Romero of Mission, James Ryan Kazen of McAllen, Stingray Schuller of McAllen, Chicago Schuller of McAllen, Dena Shaath of Mission, Lorena Silva of Alton, Madison Ticas of McAllen, and Sabrina Wilson of McAllen. 


Other students who placed in their events and qualified for the national competition include: Juan Andres Castillo of Mission, Carmen Boffill, Sam Campbell of McAllen, Christopher Garza, Alma Gonzalez of Donna, Iris Gonzalez, Isaias Gonzalez of Edinburg, Tiffany Johnson of McAllen, Joshua Mendez of McAllen, Tony Ochoa of Mercedes, Angelisa Rendon of San Benito and Gurpreet Singh of Mission.  


Students will compete in the event in which they qualified.  These events include: lesson planning and delivery-CTE; exploring innovative careers; lesson planning and delivery- STEM; service leadership; research and marketing and research and learning challenges. 


TAFE is a co-curricular and statewide non-profit student organization created to allow young men and women an opportunity to explore the teaching profession.